Curia at Mount St. Thomas

The Syro-Malabar Major Archbishop’s Curia (Office) is situated on a small hillock named Mount St. Thomas, on the Kakkanad-Kizhakambalam road, 12 kilometers away from Ernakulam town (Kochi Metropolitan City). When the Syro-Malabar Church became sui iuris or self-governing Church (in 1992) there arose the urgent necessity of a Major Archiepiscopal Curia as the office of the Major Archbishop for the entire Syro-Malabar Church. The project was initiated by the Archbishop Abraham Kattumana, the late Pontifical Delegate to the Syro-Malabar Church. For this purpose the land which belonged to the Navodhaya Film Studios was bought and started to function in the present

Liturgical Research Centre and St. Thomas Christian Museum. The new Curia building was blessed on 3 July 1998 by the late Cardinal Antony Padiyara, the first Major Archbishop and different offices were inaugurated by the late Major Archbishop Cardinal Varkey Vithayathil, C.Ss.R. The Curia consists of the office of the Major Archbishop, Secretariats of the Permanent Synod and of the Synod of Bishops, Offices of the various Commissions and Committees and the Major Archiepiscopal Ordinary Tribunal as well as the Superior Tribunal of the Syro-Malabar Church. Major Archiepiscopal Curia is the common headquarters of the entire Syro-Malabar Church. It is here at Mount St. Thomas the office of the present Major Archbishop His Beatitude Mar George Cardinal Alencherry functions.